Chapter’s Annual Awards and Installation Dinner

On September 8, 2016, The FBA South Florida Chapter’s Annual Awards and Installation Dinner was held at the J.W. Marriot Marquis in Downtown Miami. Our Chapter had the high honor of presenting the Edward B. Davis Award for Service to the Federal Bench & Bar to the Honorable Robert L. Dubé, former United States Magistrate Judge. The Chapter’s most prestigious award, the Edward B. Davis Award for Service to the Federal Bench and Bar is bestowed annually to one who has promoted the Chapter’s values of excellence and service to the community, federal bench, and federal bar. Serving the federal bench for seventeen years, Judge Dubé, in his own words, was “an advocate of neither party, but for the law.” Since graduating from law school, Judge Dubé has been a member of the South Florida Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. He served as a chapter officer from 1968 until 2010, and held the position of Chapter President from 1973-1974.  During dinner, Judge Dubé addressed the crowd and expressed his honest and sincere appreciation to the Chapter for honoring him that night. Thank you for your years of commitment to the South Florida Chapter, Judge Dubé!

Furthermore, our incoming Chapter President, Benjamin Brodsky, as well as the 2016-2017 Executive Board, were sworn in. Our outgoing President, Oliver A. Ruiz, detailed the fantastic achievements of our Chapter last year, and introduced Mr. Brodsky, who thanked the Chapter for its support and even had the crowd laughing on several occasions. We are proud to have Mr. Brodsky to lead our growing Chapter this year.

The turnout from the judiciary and members of the Bar was astounding! Thank you to all who came out and showed support!

A Special Thank You to our Sponsors:


Baker & McKenzie

Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP

Coffey Burlington

Colson Hicks Eidson

Greenberg Traurig, P.A.

Hogan Lovells

Holland & Knight

Kobre & Kim LLP

Podhurst Orseck, P.A.

Stuart Grossman


Carlton Fields Jorden Burt, P.A.

Gelber Schachter & Greenberg, P.A.

León Cosgrove LLC

Malloy & Malloy, P.L.


Bilzin Sumberg Baena Price & Axelrod LLP

Cole, Scott, & Kissane P.A.

Deutsch & Blumberg, P.A.

Dimond Kaplan & Rothstein, P.A.

Duane Morris LLP

Herron Ortiz, P.A.

Homer Bonner Jacobs, P.A.

Jackson Lewis P.C.

Kenny Nachwalter, P.A.

Mandel & Mandel LLP

Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton, LLP

Sallah, Astaritz & Cox, LLC

Squire Patton Boggs

St. Thomas University School of Law

Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP

Ver Ploeg & Lumpkin, P.A.

2016-09-08 10:02:002016-09-08 10:02:00America/New_YorkChapter's Annual Awards and Installation Dinner_Federal Bar Association South Florida
  • Category: Awards & Installation
  • Date: September 8, 2016